How To Make A Will In Texas?
To make a complete last will and testament in Texas, one should:
- Be at least 18 years of age or older and mentally competent.
- Name an executor who had never had a felony. The person must not be considered a party to the will nor have any vested interest in the estate. This person must be at least 18 years old.
- Describe how you would like your property distributed after your death. This can be done by specific bequests of personal property, real estate, or cash, or by disposing of the property through a trust. You may also name a guardian for your minor children.
- Sign the will in the presence of two adult witnesses, who must also sign the document. Witnesses cannot be beneficiaries of the estate nor be a party to the will. They must be at least 14 years old.
Texas Last Will and Testament Template
If you die without a will, the state may take control over distributing your assets. Your surviving spouse and children will receive an intestate share.
A person who is 18 years of age or older and mentally competent can sign a last will. Witnesses must be at least 14.
A person can write a new will, but it will change the previous version. The change should state which provisions from the original will are being omitted, either in whole or in part, and the new provisions that are being added.
The changes should also be signed and dated before two adult witnesses. You must use a codicil form to amend it.